Duane Buziak

Duane Buziak
Mortgage Maestro | NMLS #1110647 | Coast2Coast Mortgage LLC
Licensed mortgage broker serving Virginia, Florida, Tennessee, Georgia, Washington DC, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Maryland, specializing in VA home loans and first-time homebuyer programs.

When you sit down to review a Loan Estimate, one section tends to stop buyers cold: Section A, the origination charges. Two numbers appear that look almost identical — lender fees and broker fees — yet they represent fundamentally different business models, different incentive structures, and often, very different total costs over the life of your loan.

Understanding the distinction isn’t just academic. It directly shapes which loan program you can access, how much flexibility you have on pricing, and whether the person advising you is working for you or for a quota.

This article isn’t about finding the lowest rate this week. This is about understanding the structural difference between how direct lenders price their loans versus how independent mortgage brokers operate, so you can make a strategy-informed decision before you sign anything.

Whether you’re a first-time buyer navigating FHA versus conventional options, a move-up buyer eyeing a jumbo purchase above the $806,500 conforming limit, or a real estate investor evaluating DSCR financing, the fee structure you encounter will shape your options in ways that go well beyond the origination line.

We’ll walk through seven concrete strategies — each with its own implementation guidance — so you leave with a clear framework, not just a definition.

Table of Contents

1. Read Your Loan Estimate Like a Fee Map, Not a Rate Sheet

2. Understand How Each Business Model Prices Your Loan

3. Run the Worked Math: Points, Fees, and Break-Even

4. Match Fee Structure to Your Loan Program

5. Evaluate Total Cost of Credit, Not Just the Origination Line

6. Use the NoTouch Credit Process to Shop Without Score Damage

7. Know When a Broker’s Fee Is Worth More Than a Lender’s ‘No Fee’ Offer

Frequently Asked Questions

Putting It All Together

1. Read Your Loan Estimate Like a Fee Map, Not a Rate Sheet

The Challenge It Solves

Most buyers scan a Loan Estimate for one number: the interest rate. But the rate alone tells you almost nothing about the true cost structure of the loan or who’s being compensated, how much, and by whom. If you skip past Section A, you’re making a decision with incomplete information.

The Strategy Explained

Under RESPA/TRID — the CFPB’s Know Before You Owe mortgage disclosure rules — all origination charges must appear in Section A of the Loan Estimate. This is where the business model becomes visible. A direct retail lender will typically show a single origination charge or a flat fee. A broker transaction will show the broker’s compensation separately, clearly labeled as either borrower-paid or lender-paid.

That distinction matters enormously. Borrower-paid compensation is an upfront fee you pay at closing. Lender-paid compensation is funded by a slightly higher interest rate — you don’t write a check, but you pay over time through your monthly payment. Both are disclosed. Neither is hidden in a broker transaction. In a retail lender transaction, the internal margin built into your rate is not separately disclosed at all.

Implementation Steps

1. Open your Loan Estimate to page 2, Section A. Look for any line labeled “Origination Charge,” “Broker Compensation,” “Discount Points,” or “Loan Origination Fee.”

2. Identify whether the compensation is borrower-paid (a dollar amount you owe at closing) or lender-paid (typically reflected as a credit in Section A or Section J, offset by a higher rate).

3. Compare Section A across two or more Loan Estimates for the same loan scenario. The structure of Section A will tell you whether you’re comparing a broker transaction to a retail transaction — which means you’re comparing two different pricing models, not just two different numbers.

Pro Tips

Ask any originator to explain every line in Section A before you proceed. A broker who understands their compensation structure will explain it clearly and without hesitation. If the explanation feels evasive or the lines are vague, that’s meaningful information about how the relationship is going to feel throughout the entire process.

2. Understand How Each Business Model Prices Your Loan

The Challenge It Solves

The phrase “no broker fee” from a retail direct lender sounds appealing. But it doesn’t mean the origination is free — it means the margin is embedded in the rate rather than disclosed as a line item. Understanding this structural difference is the foundation of every other strategy in this article.

The Strategy Explained

A direct retail lender — think of the mortgage divisions at companies like Rocket Mortgage or Movement Mortgage — prices your loan from their internal rate sheet. The spread between their cost of funds and the rate they offer you is their margin. That margin is not separately disclosed on your Loan Estimate. It’s built into the rate itself, invisible in Section A.

An independent mortgage broker operates differently. The broker accesses wholesale pricing from multiple investors and is compensated either by you (borrower-paid) or by the lender (lender-paid) — but never both on the same transaction. This is governed by Regulation Z (12 CFR 1026.36), which makes broker compensation mutually exclusive: borrower-paid and lender-paid are two separate options, and the broker must choose one per transaction. This is the disclosure structure that makes broker compensation transparent in a way that retail lender margin simply is not.

This is also where the NoTouch Credit Process becomes valuable early in the conversation. Starting with a NoTouch Credit Pull lets you explore program fit and fee structure scenarios without a hard inquiry affecting your credit — so you can have the business-model conversation before committing to any originator.

Implementation Steps

1. Ask every originator you speak with: “Are you a direct lender or an independent broker?” The answer determines what pricing channels they have access to.

2. Ask a broker: “Is your compensation borrower-paid or lender-paid on this loan?” Under Regulation Z, they must answer clearly.

3. Ask a retail lender: “What is your margin on this loan above your cost of funds?” They are not required to disclose this — and most won’t. That asymmetry is worth noting.

Pro Tips

Wholesale pricing — the channel brokers access — is typically lower than retail pricing because the broker handles the origination work that the lender would otherwise staff internally. The lender saves on overhead and passes a portion of that savings to the broker’s clients. That’s the structural argument for broker access, and it’s worth understanding before you compare any two Loan Estimates side by side.

3. Run the Worked Math: Points, Fees, and Break-Even

The Challenge It Solves

Abstract discussions about fee structures don’t help you make a decision at the kitchen table. Real math does. The break-even calculation on borrower-paid versus lender-paid broker compensation is one of the most useful tools in mortgage strategy — and it takes about two minutes once you understand the framework.

The Strategy Explained

Here is a concrete, illustrative scenario using a $500,000 loan amount. These figures are presented for educational purposes to demonstrate the break-even framework — they are not rate quotes and do not represent current market pricing.

Scenario A — Borrower-Paid Broker Compensation: 1% origination fee = $5,000 due at closing. Illustrative rate: 6.375%. Monthly principal and interest: approximately $3,119. Total interest over 30 years: approximately $622,840.

Scenario B — Lender-Paid Broker Compensation (no upfront fee): The broker’s compensation is funded by a slightly higher rate. Illustrative rate: 6.625% (0.25% higher than Scenario A). Monthly principal and interest: approximately $3,202. Monthly delta versus Scenario A: $83 more per month.

Break-Even Calculation: $5,000 upfront fee ÷ $83 monthly savings = approximately 60 months, or 5 years.

The plain-language decision rule: if you expect to hold this loan longer than 5 years without refinancing or selling, Scenario A (paying the upfront fee) saves you money over the hold period. If you plan to sell, refinance, or pay off the loan within 5 years, Scenario B (no upfront fee, slightly higher rate) is the better fit because you never reach the break-even point.

Inline byline: This framework is a core part of the strategy consultations offered by Duane Buziak, NMLS #1110647, licensed in VA/FL/TN/GA/DC.

Implementation Steps

1. Get the monthly payment for both scenarios (borrower-paid and lender-paid) from your broker. The difference is your monthly delta.

2. Divide the upfront fee by the monthly delta. That’s your break-even in months.

3. Compare the break-even timeline to your realistic expected hold period — not your ideal hold period, but your realistic one based on career plans, family plans, and market conditions.

Pro Tips

Most buyers overestimate how long they’ll hold a loan. The national median tenure in a home has historically been well under ten years for many buyer segments. If you’re a first-time buyer who expects to move up in five to seven years, lender-paid compensation with no upfront fee often makes more strategic sense — even if the rate is slightly higher on paper.

4. Match Fee Structure to Your Loan Program — The Comparison Table

The Challenge It Solves

The right fee structure isn’t universal. It depends on the loan program, the borrower’s profile, and the specific strategic objective. A fee structure that works well for a conventional conforming purchase may be entirely wrong for a DSCR investor loan or a VA purchase. This table gives you a program-by-program framework.

The Strategy Explained

Use the table below to orient your fee-structure conversation before you request a Loan Estimate. The goal is to match the origination channel — broker versus direct retail — to the program where that channel creates the most strategic value.

Conventional Conforming (up to $806,500) | Broker or Retail | Move-up buyers, strong credit profiles, 5%+ down | Broker wholesale pricing often competitive; retail channels like Rocket Mortgage or Movement Mortgage may offer streamlined processing for straightforward profiles

FHA (up to $806,500 base) | Broker or Retail | First-time buyers, 580+ FICO, 3.5% down | Upfront MIP of 1.75% of loan amount plus annual MIP of 0.85% (for LTV over 95%, 30-year term per HUD MIP schedule) are program costs, not broker fees — evaluate total cost of credit including MIP

VA (no conforming limit for eligible veterans) | Broker with VA approval strongly preferred | VA-eligible buyers and veterans | Broker access to multiple VA-approved investors frequently produces better pricing than single-channel retail; Veterans United is a well-known direct VA lender for comparison; VA funding fee (2.15% first use, 0% down; 3.3% subsequent use, 0% down; per va.gov) is a program cost separate from broker compensation

Jumbo (above $806,500; high-cost limit $1,209,750 per FHFA 2026 limits) | Broker strongly preferred | Move-up and luxury buyers, high-income profiles | Retail lenders have narrow jumbo investor relationships; broker access to portfolio and non-agency investors creates meaningful pricing competition

DSCR / Non-QM | Broker essential | Real estate investors, rental property financing | DSCR programs are almost exclusively wholesale/non-agency; broker access is often the only path to competitive Non-QM pricing; fee structure should be evaluated against total debt-service coverage, not just origination cost

Direct Retail Channel | Retail lender only | Borrowers with straightforward profiles seeking single-point-of-contact convenience | Margin embedded in rate, not separately disclosed; suitable when program fit is clear and rate competitiveness is less critical than process simplicity

Implementation Steps

1. Identify your loan program before you request Loan Estimates. Your program determines which origination channels are actually available to you.

2. For VA and jumbo scenarios specifically, request at least one broker-originated Loan Estimate alongside any retail estimate. The structural difference in investor access is most pronounced in these two program categories.

3. For DSCR and Non-QM scenarios, a broker is not just preferable — it’s often the only practical path to the program itself.

Pro Tips

The comparison table above compares programs and channels, not rates. Rates change daily. Program fit and channel access are structural — they don’t change with the market. Build your strategy around the structural layer first, then optimize pricing within the right channel.

5. Evaluate Total Cost of Credit, Not Just the Origination Line

The Challenge It Solves

APR is a useful but incomplete metric. It accounts for fees spread over the full loan term — but most borrowers don’t hold a loan for 30 years. And it doesn’t capture the interaction between upfront costs, monthly payments, and your specific expected hold period. Total cost of credit gives you a more honest picture.

The Strategy Explained

Total cost of credit for your expected hold period = cash to close (including any origination fees or discount points) + total interest paid during the months you actually hold the loan.

This framework changes the discount points conversation significantly. Paying discount points to buy down your rate only makes financial sense if you hold the loan long enough to recover the upfront cost through lower monthly payments — the same break-even logic from Strategy 3, applied to points rather than broker compensation.

It also reframes the no-out-of-pocket closing options conversation. Rolling closing costs into the rate (lender-paid) or into the loan balance preserves cash at closing — but it increases your total cost of credit over the hold period. For a buyer who plans to sell in three years, that trade-off may be entirely rational. For a buyer who plans to stay fifteen years, it’s worth running the math carefully before choosing convenience over cost.

Implementation Steps

1. Ask your broker for two Loan Estimates for the same scenario: one with borrower-paid closing costs and one with no-out-of-pocket closing options (lender-paid or rolled into rate). Compare total interest paid over your expected hold period, not over 30 years.

2. If discount points are offered, apply the break-even calculation: upfront point cost ÷ monthly savings = break-even in months. If that number exceeds your expected hold period, decline the points.

3. Add cash to close to total interest over hold period for each scenario. The scenario with the lower combined number is the better total-cost-of-credit choice for your situation.

Pro Tips

The total-cost-of-credit framework is especially powerful for move-up buyers and investors who have a clear timeline. If you know you’re selling in five years to upsize, or refinancing when rates drop, you can make a precise decision rather than a gut-feel one. Precision is the advantage of working with a strategy-first broker rather than a transactional originator.

6. Use the NoTouch Credit Process to Shop Without Score Damage

The Challenge It Solves

The single biggest behavioral barrier to comparing multiple Loan Estimates is the fear of credit score damage from multiple hard inquiries. Many buyers get one Loan Estimate, feel uncertain, but don’t request a second because they don’t want to risk their score. That fear — even when it’s based on a misunderstanding of how FICO scoring works — costs buyers real money.

The Strategy Explained

FICO’s mortgage shopping window is more forgiving than most buyers realize. According to myfico.com, FICO scoring models treat multiple mortgage-related hard inquiries within a defined window as a single inquiry for scoring purposes. Older FICO models use a 14-day window; newer models extend that to 45 days. This means you can request multiple Loan Estimates from multiple originators within that window with minimal scoring impact.

But there’s an even better starting point: the NoTouch Credit Process. This pre-qualification path uses a soft pull — no hard inquiry, no score impact — to give you a realistic picture of your program eligibility, estimated rate range, and fee structure options before any lender sees a hard inquiry on your file. The NoTouch Credit Process is specifically designed to let you have the full strategy conversation — including the broker versus retail fee structure comparison — without any credit consequences.

Once you’ve narrowed your options to two or three Loan Estimates worth comparing, you can authorize hard pulls within the FICO shopping window, knowing the scoring impact will be minimal.

Implementation Steps

1. Start with the NoTouch Credit Process to establish your baseline program eligibility and explore fee structure options without a hard pull.

2. Use the soft-pull pre-qualification to have the full broker-versus-retail conversation, run the break-even math, and identify the two or three scenarios worth requesting formal Loan Estimates for.

3. When you’re ready for formal Loan Estimates, request them within a 14-to-45-day window to take advantage of FICO’s mortgage shopping window. All inquiries within that window count as one for scoring purposes.

Pro Tips

Don’t let credit score anxiety shortcut your due diligence. A buyer who compares two or three Loan Estimates — even with the minor, temporary impact of multiple inquiries — is in a dramatically stronger position than a buyer who accepts the first offer out of fear. The FICO shopping window exists precisely because regulators recognized that comparison shopping is in borrowers’ best interests.

7. Know When a Broker’s Fee Is Worth More Than a Lender’s ‘No Fee’ Offer

The Challenge It Solves

“No origination fee” is one of the most effective marketing phrases in mortgage retail. It sounds like free. It isn’t. Understanding what’s behind that offer — and when broker compensation delivers superior total value despite the visible fee — is the capstone skill in fee-structure literacy.

The Strategy Explained

A retail direct lender that advertises no origination fee is not absorbing that cost. They’re recovering it through a higher rate, a higher margin embedded in the pricing, or both. Because that margin is not separately disclosed in Section A, it’s invisible to most borrowers. The “no fee” offer is structurally a lender-paid compensation arrangement — except that in a retail context, the lender is paying themselves, and the amount is not disclosed.

A broker who charges a visible origination fee — say, 1% on a $500,000 loan — is disclosing their compensation explicitly. The question is whether the wholesale pricing they access, net of that fee, delivers better total value than the retail “no fee” offer. In many scenarios, it does.

The scenarios where broker fee plus wholesale pricing most consistently outperforms retail “no fee” offers: Non-QM and DSCR loans (where retail channels often don’t have the program at all), jumbo loans above $806,500 (where broker access to portfolio investors creates genuine pricing competition), VA loans (where broker access to multiple VA-approved investors frequently produces better terms than a single-channel retail VA lender), and self-employed borrowers using bank statement or alternative income documentation (where program access matters as much as pricing).

Implementation Steps

1. When you receive a “no origination fee” retail offer, ask for the APR alongside the rate. A significant gap between rate and APR on a “no fee” loan suggests margin is embedded elsewhere in the pricing structure.

2. Request a broker-originated Loan Estimate for the same scenario. Compare total cost of credit over your expected hold period — not just the origination line.

3. For Non-QM, DSCR, jumbo, VA, or self-employed scenarios specifically, prioritize broker access as your starting point. The “no fee” retail offer may not even exist for your program — or if it does, the rate differential may make the broker’s disclosed fee the clearly better economic choice.

Pro Tips

The most important reframe here: a fee you can see and evaluate is always preferable to a margin you can’t. Broker compensation is disclosed, capped, and mutually exclusive per Regulation Z. Retail margin is embedded and undisclosed. Transparency has real value in a decision of this size — and a broker who can explain exactly what they earn and why is giving you something a retail originator structurally cannot.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between a lender fee and a broker fee on a Loan Estimate?

A lender fee is charged by a direct retail lender and typically reflects their internal cost of origination plus margin. A broker fee is the compensation paid to an independent mortgage broker, disclosed separately in Section A of the Loan Estimate as either borrower-paid or lender-paid. The key structural difference is disclosure: broker compensation is explicitly itemized, while a retail lender’s margin is embedded in the rate and not separately disclosed.

Can a mortgage broker charge both a borrower-paid fee and receive lender-paid compensation on the same loan?

No. Under Regulation Z (12 CFR 1026.36), a mortgage broker cannot receive compensation from both the borrower and the lender on the same transaction. Borrower-paid and lender-paid compensation are mutually exclusive per transaction. This is a federal consumer protection rule, not a broker policy.

Is a “no origination fee” offer from a direct lender actually free?

No. A retail lender that advertises no origination fee recovers that cost through a higher interest rate or embedded margin. Because retail lender margin is not separately disclosed on the Loan Estimate, the “no fee” framing can be misleading. The total cost of credit — rate plus fees over your expected hold period — is the only reliable comparison metric.

How does the FICO mortgage shopping window work?

According to myfico.com, FICO scoring models treat multiple mortgage-related hard inquiries within a defined window as a single inquiry. Older FICO models use a 14-day window; newer models extend this to 45 days. This means comparing multiple Loan Estimates within that window has minimal impact on your credit score.

What is the NoTouch Credit Process and how does it help?

The NoTouch Credit Process is a pre-qualification pathway that uses a soft credit pull — no hard inquiry, no score impact — to assess program eligibility and explore fee structure options before any formal application. It allows borrowers to have a full strategy conversation about broker versus retail fee structures, run break-even math, and identify the right program fit without any credit consequences.

When does paying an upfront broker origination fee make financial sense?

Paying an upfront origination fee makes sense when the lower rate it produces — compared to a lender-paid, no-upfront-fee option — saves you more in monthly payments over your expected hold period than the fee itself. The break-even calculation is simple: upfront fee ÷ monthly savings = break-even in months. If you’ll hold the loan longer than that break-even point, the upfront fee is the better economic choice.

Are broker fees negotiable?

Broker compensation is set per transaction and disclosed under Regulation Z. While the specific compensation structure can vary by transaction, it cannot be changed mid-process once disclosed. The best practice is to discuss compensation structure and the borrower-paid versus lender-paid decision before the Loan Estimate is issued, so the structure reflects your strategic preference from the start.

Why might a broker be a better choice than a direct lender for a VA loan?

An independent broker with VA approval can access multiple VA-approved wholesale investors, creating genuine pricing competition for your loan. A direct retail VA lender — like Veterans United, which is a well-known single-channel VA lender — offers only their own pricing. Broker access to multiple VA investors frequently produces better terms, particularly for borrowers with specific scenarios like higher loan amounts or mixed credit profiles. VA funding fee rates are set by the VA and are the same regardless of channel.

How do DSCR loans differ from conventional loans in terms of fee structure?

DSCR (Debt Service Coverage Ratio) loans are Non-QM products designed for real estate investors who qualify based on the property’s rental income rather than personal income documentation. These programs are almost exclusively available through wholesale/non-agency channels — meaning a broker is typically the only practical path to DSCR financing. The fee structure should be evaluated against the total debt-service coverage and cash-flow picture, not just the origination cost in isolation.

What is the current conforming loan limit and why does it matter for fee structure?

The FHFA’s 2026 conforming loan limit is $806,500 for single-unit properties in most U.S. counties, with a high-cost limit of $1,209,750. Loans above $806,500 are jumbo loans and fall outside Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac guidelines. Retail lenders have limited jumbo investor relationships; broker access to portfolio and non-agency investors creates meaningful pricing competition for jumbo borrowers — making the broker channel particularly valuable above the conforming limit.

Putting It All Together

Decoding lender fees versus broker fees isn’t about finding a villain in the mortgage process. It’s about understanding which model gives you the right tool for your specific situation.

If you’re buying a primary residence with a conforming loan and plan to stay seven or more years, the break-even math on broker-originated wholesale pricing often works in your favor. If you’re an investor financing a rental property through DSCR, broker access to Non-QM wholesale channels may be the only path to a competitive program. And if you’re a VA-eligible buyer, working with a broker who holds VA approval and can shop multiple VA-approved investors is frequently the difference between a good loan and the right loan.

The seven strategies in this article give you a framework to evaluate any Loan Estimate you receive — not just to compare numbers, but to understand what’s behind them. Start with Section A of your Loan Estimate, run the break-even math on any points or fees presented, and use the NoTouch Credit Process to explore your options without credit score consequences.

For buyers managing upfront costs alongside fee decisions, down payment assistance programs like Dynamo DPA (2.5% or 3.5% assistance, minimum 580 FICO) and Turbo DPA (3.5% or 5% assistance, minimum 600 FICO) are additional tools worth exploring in the same strategy conversation.

The right mortgage is the one that fits your plans, your timeline, and your financial picture — not just the one with the lowest number on a rate sheet.

Ready to see how your specific scenario maps to the right fee structure? Talk to Duane today for a strategy consultation — no hard pull required to get started.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *